Murder/mystery/adventure/thriller

The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths

I’ve been reading and enjoying a lot of crime fiction lately, and this book with it’s blend of gothic storytelling and crime really appealed to me when I read the blurb.

Clare Cassidy is an English teacher at Talgarth High School, where she also researches gothic writer RM Holland who lived in the old building part of the school. Her friend and colleague Ella is discovered murdered during October half term, and the police also find a quote from one of Holland’s stories near the body. There are other links between Holland’s story, The Stranger and the crime scene, and their investigation centres around Clare and her contacts. When the killer strikes again, the investigation takes on a new sense of urgency, as it would appear that they are dealing with a murderer with a deadly obsession.

It took me a little while to get into this book: I struggled at first to empathise with Clare, and found her diary writing a little strange, if I’m honest. However, the narrative then switched between characters and I found I began to enjoy the story a lot more (particularly as one of the characters voiced those same thoughts about diary writing!). I soon found myself drawn into the mystery, and was keen to discover who the murderer was. The ending surprised me; I hadn’t managed to work it out at all… which I think is a good thing.

Slow to start, but improves as you read further; an interesting and atmospheric crime novel.

1 thought on “The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths”

Leave a comment